Painting 1, Part 2

Understanding Colour – Mixing greys then colour mixing A2

I tried to mix the colours from Chevreul’s wheel beginning with primary red, red-orange, orange yellow and so on. I worked on the colours I was unsure about several times on a sheet of grey prepared paper but the ones I was confident about I applied directly from the palette.

Project – Still life – Drawing in Paint – Still life with flowers – in oils A2

IMG_0924

Still life with natural objects – in oils A2

IMG_0923

Explored shape and colour and texture of onions – getting lost in the detail.  Growing in confidence in mark and colour.

Still life with man-made objects – in oils A2

Not having used oils I became increasing frustrated by their slow drying time.  I struggled to stay on track.  Experimenting with colour and texture as I progressed.

Exploring colour relationships and contrasts – I made notes about colours and their effects on each other.  Research….

Harry – colour feeling – complementary colours to evoke mood…..going back to acrylics which feel more comfortable various – 24×30″.

Other work – portrait and exterior study

Assignment 2 ‘Loosely painted flowers’ 

Summary – my preferred subject for still life is flowers.  My preferred medium is acrylics.  Working in a free and expressive style, no labouring over detail.  I chose to work with floral displays and from photos.  I will be working in acrylics after oils became far to slow and constraining to work with.  I produced a few finished pieces.

Composition approaches – there are many ways to work creatively.  It helped to have photo reference to use and flowers but I learned not to follow them slavishly.  I practiced compositions on rough paper first – small thumbnail sketches helped.  I wanted a loosely painted approach in order to use my natural creativity.  I used elements of the photo/flowers e.g. the flower shapes but changed the vase/ colours of flowers, background, or vase or all or some.  I could also mix flowers from different photos.

Background Colours – Maximum impact A2 acrylic on canvas

I wanted a vibrant and maximum impact colour therefore used a complementary colour for my flowers i.e. if painting in predominantly yellow – opting for violet or purple light wash in the background.

For a more subtle approach I would choose a neutral background which works well in any painting.  But in this case I wanted a big contrast and use my new understanding of colour to greater effect.

Detail – suggestions of detail rather than overloading the viewer with too much.

Painting loosely – adding detail too early is the enemy of achieving a loose painting.  I started big and bold, laying down several background colours upon which to set my floral composition. I frequently referred to Van Gogh’s sunflowers in order to experiment with different colour effects, brushstrokes and textures and am very happy with the result.

IMG_0933

Research:

The Colour Mixing Bible 2004  Ian Sidaway

The Elements of Colour 1970 Itten

Basic Colour: a practical handbook 2008 Jane de Sausmarez

Vangogh – various

 

 

Leave a comment